Sweet Aroma

And he shall take of it his handful, of the flour of the meat offering, and of the oil thereof, and all the frankincense which is upon the meat offering, and shall burn it upon the altar for a sweet savour, even the memorial of it, unto the LORD. – Leviticus 6:15

Years ago, we used to have a dog. She loved camping. But of course, we couldn’t always take her with us. And when we would come home, all of our belongings smelling like a campfire, she would come up to us and take one whiff, and spent the rest of the night pouting that we had gone camping without her.

I’ve been slowly plugging away through this series of Identity. Who we are in Christ. Who God says we are. And He says we are a sweet aroma to Him. And, a sweet aroma to those around us. Now, I will be honest with you, I never really took this literally.

But, maybe, it can be a literal application.

I know God wants us to sacrifice ourselves, our lives, our needs and wants for His. That when moments arise and we have to choose between the flesh (our wants) and the Spirit (His want), that we should be taking that opportunity to climb up onto the altar and sacrifice that for Him. That it should be considered a privilege to be a offering for Him. That we should want it so much that it shapes our daily lives and changes how we think, how we approach situations, how we do life.

And, years ago, I really started to try to get this from my head to my heart. That worship song, “New Wine” became a constant loop in my head. Praying for God to make my heart, a heart of flesh. To see His will, and to make it my purpose.

And walk in love, as Christ also has loved us and given Himself for us, an offering and a sacrifice to God for a sweet-smelling aroma.

Ephesians 5:2

Indeed I have all and abound. I am full, having received from Epaphroditus the things sent from you, a sweet-smelling aroma, an acceptable sacrifice, well pleasing to God.

Philippians 4:18

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.

Romans 12:1-2

15 For we are to God the pleasing aroma of Christ among those who are being saved and those who are perishing. 16 To the one we are an aroma that brings death; to the other, an aroma that brings life. And who is equal to such a task?

2 Corinthians 2:15-16

and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Ephesians 5:2

41 I will accept you as fragrant incense when I bring you out from the nations and gather you from the countries where you have been scattered, and I will be proved holy through you in the sight of the nations.

Ezekiel 20:41

The act of sacrifice, walking in love, makes us a sweet aroma to the Lord. It is a tangible effect of our submission and gives Him pleasure. And, I really like what 2 Corinthians 2:15 says, that we will also have this aroma to those around us. That, truly, this could be a real, literal effect on us, that we cannot comprehend. I’m sure, we’re aware, that we can’t really smell ourselves (unless, of course, we’re absolutely foul from working hard, or other extenuating circumstances.) But, truly, we’re unaware for the most part, of our scent to those around us. And, yet, when we think of a loved one, they have a definitive scent. That, if we ever run across a similar odor somewhere else, we’re instantly reminded of that person. Which, is really incredible, if you think about it, because it’s definitely something we have little control over. And yet, smell is one of the strongest senses? Smell can rocket our brain right back to a particular situation, or person. That the capability of our brains to perform such an amazing task is really incredible. The rest of the senses hardly evoke this response. Smells also have the capability to soothe us, like nothing else. The smell of fresh coffee grounds. Lilacs. Puppies. And, what’s incredible, is as you read those words, you probably remember their smell before you see the images. God is in the details.

This concept of a sweet aroma has been kicking around in my brain for a while. Just a couple weeks ago, I was in a little restaurant, waiting to meet a friend for lunch, and as a lady walked past me, she stopped and said, “Your perfume smells wonderful.” I don’t wear perfume. I haven’t worn perfume in years. In fact, I hadn’t even showered yet that day. Of course, I smiled and told her thank you, but my mind was instantly reminded of 2 Corinthians 2:15, that we are a sweet aroma to those around us. And, maybe, if this had just happened once, I would write it off. But, this has been a constant recurrence in the last few years. Several people have told me that I smell good or commented on my perfume. Some people, I’ve even been honest, stating I’m not wearing any perfume, and tried to run through a list of potential things they could be smelling, and never able to determine what it is – besides me.

It leads me to wonder, that as we walk in His Will and His Way, and become a sweet aroma to Him, maybe He makes us a sweet aroma to those around us. That He is so in the details, and taking such a personal interest in our lives that He would do that. That He would actually change the way we smell, or how our scent is perceived by those around us. It’s just an incredible thought. How great is our God? To be so in the minutia of such a thing, and use such a discreet, yet powerful tool to connect with us.

Let’s Pray

Dear Heavenly Father, Thank You. Thank You, for being so incredible, so omnipresent to be in such details. Thank you that your Word breathes life into us. That you are in every moment with us. That you use such amazing, small details to show up in big ways. That You are such a personal God, that such details even matter to you. Thank you Father, for every opportunity that You take to show up and be the amazing God that You are. IN JESUS’ NAME! AMEN!

Leave a comment